The best damn chicken drumsticks

Let me introduce you to the best chicken drumstick recipe ever.

I found this recipe on Valentine’s Day. I thought it’d be fitting for Brett and I to share our love for one another over a pile of steaming hot drumsticks. Yes I’m romantic AF.

Actually, we originally had reservations for All-You-Can-Eat Tacos at Tequila Joe’s (which we finally had a couple of weeks ago), but had been eating out so frequently after first moving to Wellington that we (and our waistlines) needed a night in.

Chicken drumsticks have become a staple item on our grocery list for a couple of reasons: they are the least expensive cut of chicken (at our supermarket, anyway) and are extremely versatile. They’re also just like eating a giant chicken wing. We’re all about the chicken wings.

This specific recipe for Crispy Baked Honey Sriracha Chicken Drumsticks comes from the blog BudgetBytes. I first found this blog on Pinterest a few years ago and it’s been a go-to ever since. I’d estimate I’ve made over two dozen of Beth’s recipes and haven’t had any ‘fails’ (which are easy to come by when following a Pinterest recipe!). One day I’ll do a “Best of BudgetBytes” post so watch out for that.

In the meantime, let me elaborate on this recipe – it can be used for any cut of meat. Drumsticks, thighs, wings (*drool*) and I even imagine that chicken breast would make a good choice.

And thanks to Beth (author of BudgetBytes), I’ve found the beauty in cornstach – and a little goes a long way. Not only does it help crisp the chicken skin in this recipe, but is a great add-in when making homemade sauces such as teriyaki and taco seasoning. One the sauce reaches boiling point it will rapidly begin to thicken into a beautiful, gooey sauce (if gooey sauce can’t be beautiful then we can’t be friends).

IMG_6626

This turned out to be “The Best Thing I’ve Ever Made” (according to Brett) and I’ll honestly tell you that we made this recipe four times within a week. It’s that good. It also uses basic ingredients that you likely have sitting in your cupboard/fridge/freezer – and if you don’t, it’s budget-friendly to shop for them.

IMG_6624Sometimes when making this recipe I measure the sauce ingredients to a t – but often I will just eyeball it, and I find that I can tweak the consistency to get just the right amount of stickiness.

I use the “fan bake” setting on my oven when I’m really hungry and this shortens the cook time to about 25 minutes. No matter how you cook it, the result is a pan of delicious, crispy drumsticks with just the right amount of spice.

If I could find Ranch Dressing in New Zealand, you’d better believe I’d be dipping these babies in a sidecar of it. Until then, I’ve opted for a dairy-free aioli to get the job done.

And don’t worry about how to store these for next-day leftovers. Because there won’t be any. Trust me.

IMG_6629

Leave a Reply

