Victoria Street Market + Balsamic Slow Cooker Roast

Since my family is over 10,000kms away (12, 827 to be exact), I have zero Easter weekend obligations. So, forget about Lazy Sundays – I’m all about productivity today.

First on the list was a trip to the Victoria Street Sunday Market. I’ve lived in Wellington for three months now and can’t believe I waited so long to experience this.

After scouring the Internet for opening times (in addition to whether it was happening over the Easter weekend) I’d seen websites indicating it starts at 4am, 6:30am and 8:30am. I decided 8:00am was a safe bet, in order to beat an early afternoon rush and get first pick (pun intended) at the produce.

FullSizeRender

In case you’re wondering – yes, I literally plan and research everything. It’s just what I do.

Getting There + Scouting Bargains

Just a short five-minute walk from my apartment, the Market hosts at least a dozen vendors – all with relatively similar offerings. I think the best way to start is to do a walk-around and check out the prices and quality. I ended up getting some great deals and a nice variety of veggies with this approach.

FullSizeRender (1)

The one thing on my “wish list” that I didn’t pick up were sweet potatoes – they were the size of a football, and the same vendor’s other produce was also super-sized (I’d never seen carrots so big!). Giant sweet potatoes freak me out. Always have and always will. And they’re a pain to chop. Not surprisingly, I decided to pass on the sweet po’s this time.

The HAUL

My fruit and veggie haul (below) cost a grand total of $9.10. The “Showstopper” purchase today was the purple kale, which was only $1.50. If that’s not worth getting out of bed early on a Sunday, then I don’t know what is. 😊

FullSizeRender (2)

Update: My Herb Grave – I mean, Herb Garden

This afternoon I’ll taking another attempt at growing an herb garden. If you don’t follow me on Instagram, I often comment about how my herbs are either dead, wilted, or just plain ugly and inedible… But I am determined to make this work. This time I’ll attempt to grow parsley, peppermint (both are apparently impossible to kill), cilantro and dill. I’m armed with fresh soil, seeds and organic fertilizer… I just need to muster up some patience and I’m all set!

FullSizeRender (3)

Back row left to right: Marjoram (oregano), Sage & Thyme   Front: Dead Basil, Lettuce and Cilantro — Guess which box is getting a makeover?

Current Mode

I’m hanging out at the only Starbucks in Wellington (sometimes you just need a taste of MURICA to get your day going), while there’s a Balsamic Glazed Roast Beef in the slow cooker at home. See what I mean about productivity? And you bet I’ve got the Market carrots and onions hanging out in the balsamic juices with the meat (I think I enjoy the carrots more than the roast itself, but this recipe is delicious and very low-maintenance).

FullSizeRender (4)

I’m also about to book some accommodation for our trip to Australia in two weeks. Brett is competing at the Sydney Fitness Expo (Powerlifting) and I’m tagging along for the ride. I’ll have two days of “free time” in Sydney, and the Planner in me is just dying to cram every activity possible into those two days. BUT. I won’t. I’m going to plan a couple of adventures and just wing it for the remaining two hours. See what I did there? 😉

Anyway, back to my To Do List now – I hope you all have a Productive Sunday!

One thought on “Victoria Street Market + Balsamic Slow Cooker Roast

Leave a Reply

