A no-nonsense approach to setting goals

Here’s your wake up call: It’s MAY.

How many of you set “New Year’s Resolutions” and have completely forgotten about them? Do you even remember what they were?

IMG_8087

I set several goals in January, each related to a different aspect of my life: Personal, Career, Financial and Health/Fitness. No, I don’t keep them on a folded piece of paper in my wallet – and I don’t always think about them every day. But I set check-in points (such as today) to review my goals and evaluate my progress.

A couple of years ago, I was fortunate to have a mentor. They motivated me to set goals on a consistent basis, and taught me skills that I will use for the rest of my life. I’ve written this post because not everyone will be lucky enough to get an opportunity like that.

Disclaimer

Sorry, this isn’t a fluffy “10 Ways to Achieve Your Dreams” post.

Instead, here are some practical things to note as you work through goal setting, which you might not find on other Fluff Blogs.

[Spoiler alert: At the bottom of this post is a mini goal-setting template to get you started].

Note 1: Where do you want to be in 2027?

When planning goals, don’t limit yourself to one year. Think long-term and consider the lifetime goals you want to achieve. If you have a goal that will take 10+ years to complete, break it down further into 1 – 3 year increments of mini goals and milestones. One day you’ll thank yourself.

Note 2: Work backwards

When I pick up a magazine, I read it from back to front. Maybe that’s why I like setting goals this way. Start at the “end” and work your way back to the present day; it’s easier to start with the big picture and then narrow down the steps to get there.

My previous job at a PR firm was to set project goals and work backwards with deadlines. And like any goal worth achieving – it typically included the usual blood, sweat and tears.

Note 3: Set a date with yourself

Mark your calendar with “check-in points”. Life gets busy and this is one less thing to remember throughout the year.

Take yourself out to a nice breakfast, spend some time by the ocean, have a picnic in the park. Or in my case: review your goals while in your PJs and drinking copious amounts of Nespresso.

IMG_8084

Note 4: Sometimes our goals change – and that’s okay

At the beginning of the year, I did not plan to enter a powerlifting competition. I planned to continue macro counting and to plague myself with more cardio and bodybuilding-style training. I eventually realized that neither of these were working for me. I wasn’t fully committed and didn’t believe in the process – and I sabotaged myself because of my stubbornness.

I stopped counting macros about a month ago and have pursued a different style of training. I truly enjoy what I do now, and going to the gym never feels like a chore.

IMG_7754

*Recognize if you’re checking-in during a point in your life when motivation is low (it happens to everyone). Think about the reasons why you set those goals and what got you excited in the first place – they should already be written down. If you’re really ready to adjust (as I did with my training goals), then do it, and make a new action plan.

Note 5: Be unrealistic

Your goals do not need to be “realistic”. Stop selling yourself short. No matter how silly you think it sounds, write it down and work towards it.

If you need some motivation, “The 10X Rule” by Grant Cardone will give you a good kick in the rear. 🙂

IMG_8093

The 10X Rule also pairs quite nicely with a glass of red – trust me on this one.

When to start

Don’t wait until 2018 to get back on track – or even Monday for that matter. If you had time to read this post, you have time to set some goals.

Forget about the Lazy Sunday cliché and go make yourself proud.

… And as promised:

Goal Setting Template

Leave a Reply

